Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Fractional or 100% Reserve System

rated by 0 users
This post has 115 Replies | 12 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 1
Points 20
Rah7 replied on Sun, Sep 28 2008 12:17 PM

I'm kind of new to this stuff so forgive me. . .

I think a 100% gold standard with 100% reserve banking is very harsh and would make economic growth very slow. I was wondering if a mixed metal standard might work for our banking system. Like Gold, silver, platinum. But every bank would have to choose one metal to print their paper by and it would have to be 100% reserve banking(central bank).

• | Post Points: 20
Top 50 Contributor
Posts 2,491
Points 43,390
scineram replied on Sun, Sep 28 2008 4:13 PM

Jon Irenicus:
Then he could rephrase: two people having access to the same underlying money-good that the money-substitute represents.

They only have access to their own banknotes. They made a loan to the bank which pays interest. This has nothing to do with warehousing. The bank just has to pay back the money with interest on demand.

• | Post Points: 35
Top 10 Contributor
Male
Posts 5,538
Points 93,790
Juan replied on Sun, Sep 28 2008 6:05 PM
I think a 100% gold standard with 100% reserve banking is very harsh and would make economic growth very slow.
Why is the same myth repeated over and over and over and over and....?

February 17 - 1600 - Giordano Bruno is burnt alive by the catholic church.
Aquinas : "much more reason is there for heretics, as soon as they are convicted of heresy, to be not only excommunicated but even put to death."

Top 500 Contributor
Posts 257
Points 4,685

Juan:
I think a 100% gold standard with 100% reserve banking is very harsh and would make economic growth very slow.
Why is the same myth repeated over and over and over and over and....?