Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Ludwig Von Mises vs. Milton Friedman? PLEASE HELP ME

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 51 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 200
StephenEstes posted on Tue, Apr 28 2009 2:45 AM

I have read some works by Milton Friedman, Ludwig Von Mises, Adam Smith, and Ayn Rand; and they all seem to be correct!

What are the primary philosophical differences between these individuals, especially Milton Friedman and Ludwig Von Mises.

Furthermore, what distinguishes that Austrian School from classical-liberal economics, or free-market economics?

I am a thinker and a student of history, political science, trends, and international relations, but economics is my weakness. I intuitively know that free market economics is correct, and history demonstrates that. But within the very general "free-market economics," what are the different variants? What are the great debates between free market economic thinkers? What are the different schools of economics that consider themselves to be free-market oriented?

-----------------------------------------------------------

I am seeking to start a private equity fund with the intent of "betting" against the commercial real estate and retail sectors in the United States. As the basis of our business plan will be rooted in economic theory to justify why betting against these sectors through short-selling etc will be feasible, I must fully understand why these sectors are doomed to collapse. I need some answers fast.