Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Reading Suggestions

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 5 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 5
Points 145
Pennsuedo Posted: Thu, Sep 27 2007 4:14 PM

I have no background in economics.  I just finished reading "The Mystery of Banking", and I found it eye-opening and enjoyable.  I would like to know more about both general and liberal economics.  Will some of you please suggest what sources I should consider reading?

• | Post Points: 35
Not Ranked
Male
Posts 53
Points 880
Webster replied on Thu, Sep 27 2007 4:23 PM

I do not know what level you are looking for, but Thomas Sowell's Basic Economics is quite impressive for ground-up books.  It is not from strictly Austrian perspective, but it primarily confines itself to the issues one is likely to see in political debates: foreign trade, price floors and ceilings, and the like (and he always at least comes out on the side of the free market).  

Numberless as the wings of trees are the years of men.
  • | Post Points: 5
Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 300
Gene Callahan's "Economics for Real People" is both entertaining, easy to read and available at no cost to you in the form of PDF from Mises.org. However, at $14 it isn't expensive for a good introduction to the field. I also have Thomas Sowell's Basic and Applied Ecnomics. They are good as well, but I learned more from Callahan.
Not Ranked
Posts 27
Points 300
And how could I forget "Economics in One Lesson" by Hazlitt. Also at no charge from Mises.org.
  • | Post Points: 20
Top 75 Contributor
Male
Posts 1,175
Points 17,905
SystemAdministrator