Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Slavery and human trafficking

rated by 0 users
This post has 10 Replies | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 3
Points 60
Shane Posted: Sat, Oct 17 2009 1:58 AM

Hello all,

I'm wondering if anyone can direct me to some good resources for an Austrian view of how to combat contemporary slavery.

I'm a newbie here and would like some help. I recently joined a book club and the first book is "Ending Slavery" by Kevin Bales. Now, I can't think of a topic more at the core of libertarian philosophy, but from my early readings of this book, it seems like he comes at the problem from a collectivist's perspective.

I live in the San Francisco Bay area so I'd like to be able to offer the other members of the club some solutions that don't involve moral contradictions about self ownership.

Top 10 Contributor
Male
Posts 5,118
Points 87,310
ForumsAdministrator
SystemAdministrator

Shane:

Hello all,

I'm wondering if anyone can direct me to some good resources for an Austrian view of how to combat contemporary slavery.

I'm a newbie here and would like some help. I recently joined a book club and the first book is "Ending Slavery" by Kevin Bales. Now, I can't think of a topic more at the core of libertarian philosophy, but from my early readings of this book, it seems like he comes at the problem from a collectivist's perspective.

I live in the San Francisco Bay area so I'd like to be able to offer the other members of the club some solutions that don't involve moral contradictions about self ownership.

Eastern Europe and Russia are big in human trafficking. What do they all have in common?
Many African countries are also big in human trafficking. What do they all have in common?
Hint: Look at what type of government they had.