Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Are unions and labor laws always bad?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 33 Replies | 6 Followers

Top 100 Contributor
850 Posts
Points 27,940
Eugene posted on Wed, Dec 8 2010 2:38 PM

In the 19th century most of the factories in western countries have made their employees work for 12 hours a day and more. After a few years of such exhausting work many people had become ill, but then the factories just replaced them with new workers. These short-sighted policies I believe have not only decreased the total economic output but also made a lot of people ill and exhausted.

Although I am not an expert on that period, but it seems to me that unionizing and labor laws have lead to a better economy and well being overall. So despite the fact that unions and labor laws are usually considered anti-Libertarian, I am not convinced it is always the case.

What do you think?

• | Post Points: 140

All Replies

Top 500 Contributor
Male
123 Posts
Points 2,070
Suggested by liberty student

"Unions are ineffective without violence.  Until you can prove otherwise, this conversation isn't going anywhere."

At a seminar I attended this past June, the justification for Unions was that if you had people working in two different locations (A and B) in the same industry, people in one location can organize to get similar treatment to those at another.

So for example, if people in Location B are paid 10% more than at location A for doing the same exact thing, people at Location A can unionize and demand a 10% pay increase. If the employer at Location A balks, the workers go on strike until their demands are met. The union WORKS if there is no one else to replace the striking workers, so the employer must agree to the pay increase or lose the business entirely.