Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Advice needed: phd in economics or law school?

rated by 0 users
This post has 8 Replies | 6 Followers

Not Ranked
Posts 2
Points 85
jcd178 Posted: Fri, May 30 2008 8:39 PM

Hi all,

I am an undergrad majoring in economics who has long planned on going to law school and practicing as a profession. However, after the past year of intense reading of Austrian economics, I have become a full-blown Austro-libertarian, and I am beginning to question my previous career choice. Would it be possible for me to remain a good libertarian while engaged in a profession (lawyering) thats very existence (in its current incarnation) depends on the state? Are there any real contributions to the cause of liberty that I could make as an attorney, or would I be better served to get a PhD at George Mason or some other Austrian-teaching economics program? I'm just kind of thinking out loud here, and I would really appreciate someone to bounce my thoughts off of. Any advice would be much appreciated.

• | Post Points: 65
Not Ranked
Posts 28
Points 545

If you do criminal defence, you're pretty much guaranteed to be contributing to the cause of liberty.  There's also plenty of civil work you can do against the government, including administrative and constitutional law.  And there are business firms that do a lot of private arbitration (which is ultimately backed by the state, but it is a more private form of dispute resolution).  Of course, it could be really hard to get a job at a firm that does the sort of work you want to do.

You should also consider what you'd accomplish as an economist in terms of fighting for liberty.

• | Post Points: 5
Top 150 Contributor
Male
Posts 755
Points 18,055
ForumsAdministrator