Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Would following Keynesian economics have been better for the UK than Gordon Brown's actions?

rated by 0 users
Answered (Not Verified) This post has 0 verified answers | 1 Reply | 3 Followers

Not Ranked
4 Posts
Points 140
jsp_1983 posted on Sun, Nov 20 2011 12:55 PM

Forgive the broad and simplistic wording of the question, but I'm still learning.

I understand that Keynesian economics, in simple terms, requires saving and restricting public spending when times are good and then borrowing and spending money when times are bad, to apparently make up for a shortfall in spending and growth. The idea seems to rely on budget surpluses and debt repayments in good times, if I've understood things correctly?

What I understand of Gordon Brown's approach was that money was increasingly taxed, borrowed and spent during the good times and accelerated in the bad (and it would seem that nothing has fundamentally changed with the new government).

I understand that Austrians disagree with the Keynesian model, but do they think it's more preferable than the model that Gordon Brown followed?

All Replies

Top 500 Contributor
103 Posts
Points 2,000