Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Question: Austrian school representatives and literature in Japan

rated by 0 users
This post has 2 Replies | 1 Follower

Not Ranked
Male
Posts 6
Points 105
Gernot Hassenpflug Posted: Sun, Mar 29 2009 7:12 PM

Dear all,

I'm a new member here, after reading Mises.org for about 2 months now. I'm an engineer, moved out of academia and government into private industry a year ago after formulating roughly my disagreements with previous institutions. Economically, the Austrian school, and how it ascribes detrimental effects on the economy to the effects of government intervention (and I am now very familiar from experience with the people who inhabit positions in government, and academia, if you pardon the latter!), pretty well makes sense to me.

After attending a, to me shocking, presentation by Dr. Richard Jerram of Macquarrie and Associates  in Tokyo a few weeks ago, where he advocated the apparently still respectable Keynesian remedies as solutions to the Japanese financial situation, to the point of saying outright that the government "has to steal the savings of the old people" and then going about explaining the best ways to accomplish this, and other ways in which to make saving less attrative so as to get the money circulating---well, I thought that was bad enough, but the fact that the audience went along with this was even more amazing and disconcerting---I decided I wanted to introduce some of my friends and business associates, not to mention my Japanese wife, to these important concepts, so as to allow us to make our practical decisions based on common intellectual ground.