Free Capitalist Network - Community Archive
Mises Community Archive
An online community for fans of Austrian economics and libertarianism, featuring forums, user blogs, and more.

Savings and Interest Rates

rated by 0 users
Answered (Verified) This post has 1 verified answer | 3 Replies | 0 Followers

Not Ranked
Male
69 Posts
Points 1,600
Samuel Smith posted on Mon, May 14 2012 3:15 AM

Hey guys,

So, I'm quite new to the Austrian school of economics. I've been a libertarian for quite some time, now, but my arguments have usually been based on the philosophy/moral side of things (primacy of the individual/taxation is theft, that sort of thing). My understanding of the Austrian business cycle theory is somewhat limited, and I do plan to do some proper reading of it over the summer (currently bogged down in exam season).

HOWEVER, my limited knowledge hasn't stopped me from going into these debates kicking-and-screaming. Usually, people only have a "reader's digest" version of their economic views, and so I'm equally matched. Unfortunately, in this game against Kens, I've hit a Ryu. And have somehow managed to find myself paired against somebody who's a financial adviser to the British treasury... and he seems to know his stuff.

Panicked, I sent his below argument that he made to Tom Woods. Too busy, and unwishing to pick through the individual arguments, he directed me to this forum, and here I am. The below argument is exceedingly long, so I do apologise:

---

Firstly its effect was not what I was saying was unfounded, but it is simply a monetary phenomenon. I work for HM Treasury as an economist on financial policy, on top of that my economics knowledge in itself is enough to know what these things do and how they interact.